Advocate

Join Our Local Efforts

Our Advocacy Committee, chaired by Board Member Lori Campbell, leads NAMI San Francisco’s advocacy efforts.  If you would like to join our local efforts, please contact the office at info@namisf.org


There are many ways to advocate and only you can define yourself as an advocate. Advocacy is empowerment and the ability to express your feelings and thoughts about how mental illness impacts your life. Attend our monthly meetings or check out our newsletter to see current advocacy issues in San Francisco.

Advocacy Tips: Sharing Your Story

Stories and emotion work best orally

  • Write to or meet with your district supervisor
  • Facts are most powerful in writing- bring fact sheet
  • Fact sheets should be simple and straightforward
  • Follow up with legislative assistants

Practice Writing and Telling an Effective Story

  • Check out NAMI Smarts for Advocacy and learn to share your story in 2 minutes
  • Introduce yourself, tell your personal story
  • Explain the challenge and build the tension
  • Paint a picture and add details
  • Describe the desired outcome
  • Conclude—Make the “Ask”
  • Thank the listener

Lobbying By Personal Visit

  • Visit in small groups—bring constituents when possible
  • Make an appointment
  • Begin on a positive note/be courteous
  • Listen carefully
  • Clearly state your position and what you are asking from the legislator
  • Reinforce meeting with one-page handout
  • Meet with aide if legislator is unavailable

 

Contact Information for District Supervisors

District 1: Eric Mar

(415) 554-7410 – voice
(415) 554-7415 – fax
Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org

District 2: Mark Farrell

(415) 554-7752 – voice
(415) 554-7843 – fax
Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org

District 3: Julie Christensen

(415) 554-7450 – voice
(415) 554-7454 – fax
Julie.Christensen@sfgov.org

District 4: Katy Tang

(415) 554-7460 – voice
(415) 554-7432 – fax
Katy.Tang@sfgov.org

District 5: London Breed

415) 554-7630 – voice
(415) 554-7634 – fax
London.Breed@sfgov.org

District 6: Jane Kim

(415) 554-7970 – voice
Jane.Kim@sfgov.org

District 7: Norman Yee

(415) 554-6516 – voice
(415) 554-6546 – fax
Norman.Yee@sfgov.org

District 8: Scott Wiener

(415) 554-6968
Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org

District 9: David Campos

(415) 554-5144 – Voice
(415) 554-6255 – Fax
David.Campos@sfgov.org

District 10: Malia Cohen

(415) 554-7670
Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org

District 11: John Avalos

(415) 554-6975 – voice
(415) 554-6979 – fax
John.Avalos@sfgov.org

For more information on contacting your supervisors and to learn more about legislation in your region visit http://www.sfbos.org/